exploring our beliefs, living our values, changing our world

WHO AM I?

One heck of a poet, Carl Sandburg passed away on this day back in 1967, the year of my birth. One quote of his I really like is “There is an eagle in me that wants to soar, and there is a hippopotamus in me that wants to wallow in the mud”

Below is one of my favorite poems by him, called “Who Am I?”

MY head knocks against the stars.
My feet are on the hilltops.
My finger-tips are in the valleys and shores of
universal life.
Down in the sounding foam of primal things I
reach my hands and play with pebbles of
destiny.
I have been to hell and back many times.
I know all about heaven, for I have talked with God.
I dabble in the blood and guts of the terrible.
I know the passionate seizure of beauty
And the marvelous rebellion of man at all signs
reading “Keep Off.”

My name is Truth and I am the most elusive captive
in the universe.

Check out the website where I got “Who Am I?” if you are interested.



 

Leave a Reply

